The Official Newspaper of the Diocese of Little Rock

Four schools announce retirement of seven staff members

Educators who have decades of experience teaching Catholic youth will be missed

Published: April 27, 2022   
Arkansas Catholic File Photos
Four schools in the Diocese of Little Rock have announced the retirement of seven longtime teachers and staff members. Pictured from left to right top, Tamara McMillian and Shannon Chamoun of St. Joseph in Conway, Lou Ann Gieringer and Beth Pursley of Mount St. Mary Academy in Little Rock, (bottom left to right) Renee Hiatt and Laurie Aldridge of Immaculate Conception in North Little Rock and Terri Kobs of St. John in Russellville.

Four schools announced the retirement of seven longtime teachers and staff members.

  • Conway, St. Joseph: Tamara McMillian has been a second-grade teacher for 24 years. Shannon Chamoun has been the K-6 art teacher for 12 years.
  • Little Rock, Mount St. Mary Academy: A former teacher and youth minister, Lou Ann Gieringer has worked at the school for 16 years, most recently as the campus ministry director. Beth Pursley, dean of students, has been the MSM for 22 years.
  • North Little Rock, Immaculate Conception: A former daycare owner, preK3 teacher Renee Hiatt is retiring after 11 years. Junior high math teacher Laurie Aldridge is retiring after five years at IC and 35 years in public schools.
  • Russellville, St. John: Fifth-grade teacher Terri Kobs has worked at the school for 15 years and has been in education for 27 years.

Bishop Taylor wants you to know more about your faith & the Church: Sign up for Arkansas Catholic's free digital edition.

Please read our Comments Policy before posting.

Article comments powered by Disqus