The Official Newspaper of the Diocese of Little Rock

Order of the Fleur De Lis investiture

Published: September 7, 2023   
August 26, 2023 | Natchez, Miss.
Commanders Honzik, Anderle, Anderson, Cambre, Flamand and Willems

On Saturday, Aug. 26, six Catholic gentlemen from Arkansas were invested into the Order of the Fleur De Lis in Natchez, Miss., at the Basilica of St. Mary.  Those invested included Roy Anderle (Mena), William Anderson (Royal), Lloyd Cambre (Benton), Dale Flamand (Little Rock), Robert Hoznik (Hot Springs Village) and Terry Willems (Scranton). The new Knight Commanders were part of a group of 23 men invested.  Leading the group was Bishop Joseph R. Kopacz of Jackson, Miss. Bishop Kopacz was joined by five clergy commanders and eleven lay commanders from Alabama, Louisiana, and Mississippi.

Commander Anderle and Lady Cathy are members of St. Agnes and serve on the board of directors for Special Olympics of Arkansas.  Commander Anderle and Lady Cathy have been married for 50 years and active in their parish. 

Commander William “Andy” Anderson is a member of St. Mary of the Springs and is active in his parish, pro-life movement and owns his own business.  Commander Anderson is employed with Brown Janitorial Supply in the sales group. 

Commander Cambre and Lady Veronica are members of Our Lady of Fatima and he serves on the Diocese of Little Rock Pastoral Council. Although retired, he remains active with Habitat for Humanity and St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Men’s Club.

Commander Flamand and Lady Mary are members of Christ the King and he is extremely active with Safe Haven Boxes program. 

Commander Hoznik and Lady Anne are members of Sacred Heart of Jesus and he actively promotes seminarian support efforts. 

Commander Willems and Lady Katrina are members of St. Ignatius and he is self-employed.  He is involved with the local area food banks.

Grand Chancellor of the Order of the Fleur De Lis Stephen F Koach noted in his remarks each knight commander invested were evaluated and found to be excellent Catholic gentlemen who have exhibited love of family, Holy Mother Church and their country.

The Order of the Fleur de Lis is an organization of Catholic men incorporated under the laws of the state of Louisiana as a not-for-profit organization.  The order’s domain is a five-state region consisting of Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee.

The objectives of the order include: Supports and defends the Holy Catholic Church and its teachings; promotes patriotism and good citizenship, encourages public morality and unselfish service to God and country; assists and publicizes the activities of other organizations which also promote the above; memorializes and popularizes the memories and achievements of Catholic leaders in religion, the arts and sciences, philanthropy education, exploration and archeology, government and international relations, medicine and jurisprudence and other established professions.

The Order of the Fleur de Lis encourages and recognizes leadership in living the values and principles of our Catholic faith by presenting the Msgr. Joseph Susi Award of Honor to an individual who has excelled as a Catholic leader in any one of the following: Religion, family values, youth, aging, politics, patriotism, the arts and sciences, education, philanthropy, public morality, management-labor, the media, or medicine and jurisprudence

Other members of the Order from the Diocese of Little Rock include Archbishop Peter J. Sartain, Msgr. Scott L. Marczuk, Msgr. R. Scott Friend, Father Patrick Boland, Commanders Gregory L.  Baltz and D. Newton White.  

See more Arkansas Catholic's News and Views from You.

Please read our Comments Policy before posting.

Article comments powered by Disqus