The Official Newspaper of the Diocese of Little Rock

Devotion, tradition add joy to Holy Week activities

Adoration, Stations of the Cross, blessings and more offered across the state

Published: March 30, 2023   
Travis McAfee, Arkansas Catholic file
Living Stations of the Cross in 2022 also include reenactment of the Last Supper by Hispanic parishioners at St. Vincent de Paul Church in Rogers.


Parishes host adoration hours after Holy Thursday Mass. Dates listed are Thursday, April 6, unless otherwise noted.

  • Charleston: Sacred Heart, 8 p.m.-midnight
  • De Queen: St. Barbara, 8 p.m.-midnight
  • El Dorado: Holy Redeemer, 6:30 p.m.-midnight (chapel)
  • Fairfield Bay: St. Francis of Assisi, 6:30 p.m.
  • Fort Smith: St. Boniface, 7 p.m.-midnight 
  • Hope: Our Lady of Good Hope, 8 p.m.
  • Hot Springs: St. John, 8 p.m.-midnight: St. Mary, 7;30 p.m.-midnight
  • Jacksonville: Holy Family, 6-8 p.m.
  • Little Rock: Christ the King, 7:30 p.m.-midnight (Family Life Center); Our Lady of the Holy Souls, 8 p.m.-midnight
  • Nashville, St. Martin, after 7 p.m. Mass
  • North Little Rock: Immaculate Heart of Mary, 8 p.m.-midnight; St. Anne, 7 p.m.-8 a.m. Friday
  • Morrison Bluff: Sts. Peter and Paul, 7:30-midnight
  • Ratcliff: St. Anthony, 6:30-10 p.m.
  • Searcy: St. James, 7:30 p.m.-midnight
  • Sheridan: Holy Cross, 6 p.m.
  • Springdale: Our Lady of Sorrows, 7 p.m.-midnight
  • Stuttgart: Holy Rosary, 7:30 p.m.-midnight
  • Subiaco: St. Benedict, 8:30 p.m.-midnight
  • Warren: St. Luke, 8:30 p.m.-midnight
  • Wynne: St. Peter, 7 p.m.-midnight

Stations of the Cross

These parishes will have Stations of the Cross at 3 p.m. on Good Friday, April 7, unless otherwise noted.

  • Arkadelphia: St. Mary, 3 p.m. & 5:30 p.m. (live)
  • Batesville: St. Mary (live)
  • Bella Vista: St. Bernard, 2 p.m.
  • Benton: Our Lady of Fatima, 11 a.m. (live)
  • Berryville: St. Anne, 6 p.m., Spanish
  • Blytheville: Immaculate Conception, 5:15 p.m.
  • Cabot: St. John the Baptist, 2 p.m.
  • Charleston: Sacred Heart
  • Cherokee Village: St. Michael
  • De Queen: St. Barbara, 5 p.m., Spanish
  • Eureka Springs: St. Elizabeth, 12:15 p.m.
  • Fayetteville: St. Joseph, bilingual; St. Thomas Aquinas University Parish, 1 p.m.
  • Fort Smith: St. Boniface, noon, English, and 4:30 p.m, Spanish (live)
  • Harrison: Mary Mother of God
  • Hope: Our Lady of Good Hope, 7 p.m., bilingual
  • Hot Springs: St. John, noon (live); St. Mary, 2:30 p.m.
  • Jacksonville: St. Jude, 5 p.m. (live)
  • Jonesboro: Blessed Sacrament, Spanish (live); St. John Newman University Parish, 7:30 p.m., Vietnamese
  • Little Rock: Cathedral of St. Andrew, 2 p.m.; Christ the King (live); Our Lady of the Holy Souls; St. Edward, 5 p.m., Spanish (live, McArthur Park); Our Lady of Good Counsel, bilingual
  • Morrison Bluff: Sts. Peter and Paul
  • North Little Rock: Immaculate Heart of Mary, noon; St. Anne, Spanish (live); St. Augustine, 5:30 p.m.; St. Patrick
  • Paragould: St. Mary, 3 p.m.
  • Pine Bluff: St. Joseph, 12:15 p.m.
  • Rogers: St. Vincent de Paul, 4:30 p.m. (live)
  • Russellville: St. John, 1 p.m. (live) bilingual
  • Sheridan: Holy Cross, 3 p.m. (rosary, 2:30 p.m.)
  • Springdale: Our Lady of Sorrows, noon (confessions at 11 a.m.)
  • Stuttgart: Holy Rosary
  • Tontitown, St. Joseph, noon
  • Wynne: St. Peter, noon

Blessing of Easter Baskets

Blessings offered on Holy Saturday, April 8, unless otherwise noted

  • Altus: St. Mary, Sunday, 11 a.m.
  • North Little Rock: Immaculate Heart of Mary, 11 a.m.

Easter Egg Hunts

These parishes are hosting Easter egg hunts on Easter Sunday, April 9, unless otherwise noted.

  • Altus: St. Mary, noon
  • Fayetteville: St. Joseph, April 16, 10:30 a.m. & 3 p.m.
  • Fort Smith: St. Boniface, Saturday, 2 p.m.
  • Jonesboro: Blessed Sacrament, Saturday, 2 p.m.
  • Morrilton: Sacred Heart, 11:30 a.m.
  • New Blaine: St. Scholastica after 10:30 a.m. Mass
  • North Little Rock: Immaculate Heart of Mary, after 10:30 a.m. Mass; St. Augustine, after 10:30 a.m. Mass
  • Russellville, St. John, after 8 a.m. and 11 a.m. Masses
  • Sheridan: Holy Rosary, after 9 a.m. Mass
  • Subiaco: St. Benedict, 11:30 a.m. Saturday
  • Rogers: St. Vincent de Paul, Saturday, 10 a.m.
  • Winslow: Our Lady of the Ozarks, after 9:30 a.m. Mass
  • Wynne: St. Peter, after 9 a.m. Mass

Bishop Taylor wants you to know more about your faith and the Church: Sign up for Arkansas Catholic's free digital edition.

Please read our Comments Policy before posting.

Article comments powered by Disqus