The Official Newspaper of the Diocese of Little Rock

News Briefs

MSM grad joins naval academy

For the second straight year, a Mount St. Mary Academy graduate is headed to the Naval Academy. Cecelia Rech received her appointment to the highly selective federal service academy in Annapolis, Md.  Rech, a member of the Cathedral of St. Andrew in Little Rock, is scheduled to report to the Naval Academy June 30.

New prioress at Holy Angels

Sister Laura Cathcart, OSB, was chosen the new prioress of Holy Angels Convent in Jonesboro June 20. The election came at the end of the convent’s annual retreat. She will replace Mother Johanna Marie Melnyk, who completed one three-year term.

Infant saved by Baby Box

A baby was saved May 24 in Arkansas as the first surrender at a Safe Haven Baby Box in Benton, Arkansas Right to Life announced May 28. A newborn infant was placed in the Safe Haven Baby Box at Benton Fire Station No. 3. The Safe Haven Law, enacted in Arkansas in 2001 and amended in 2019, is designed to protect ... More ...  

Traveling Fatima statue

Maria Maldonado, former president of St. Joseph’s Helpers and member of Christ the King Parish in Little Rock, hosted Our Lady of Fatima Traveling Statue to seek Mary’s intercession in the fight against abortion. The event was held at Arkansas Pregnancy Resource Center. On Monday, May 11 the America Needs Fatima custodian arrived with the statue of Our Lady of Fatima ... More ...  

Priest positive for COVID-19

Father Jack Sidler, pastor of St. John Church in Russellville, announced that he tested positive for COVID-19 June 17. In a message on Facebook, he said, “Since being informed I have quarantined myself and will do so until June 30. All office personnel who have tested have tested negative. I had no symptoms before testing and have had none since, ... More ...  

Three diocesan employees retire

Three diocesan employees — Patrick Gallaher, Miriam Gallaher and Lilly Hess — announced their retirements effective June 30. Patrick Gallaher has been the executive director of Catholic Charities of Arkansas for the past eight years. His wife, Miriam, has been an office assistant in the vocations office. They both attend St. Mary Church in Hot Springs. Lilly Hess has worked for the ... More ...  

What's happening in your parish?

Short articles and photographs about parish and school events and accomplishments are published weekly in Arkansas Catholic. Click here to send information about your events and accomplishments on our News and Views from You page.

Protecting children and young people

The Diocese of Little Rock is committed to protecting children and young people. If you are aware of abuse or have been abused by clerics, Church volunteers or Church workers, please contact the Diocese of Little Rock at (501) 664-0340, ext. 366, and the State of Arkansas Hotline for Crimes against Children at (800) 482-5964. For pastoral assistance, please contact ... More ...